Endpoint Security

Endpoint security system is developed to protect the endpoints connected to the corporate network from vulnerable malicious threats. This type of security includes services and features designed to protect the physical security of the endpoints and prevent automated attack. The secure endpoint security solution designed to keep the confidential information of the endpoints safe and secured.

In the context of this security system is the endpoints are protected with SSH, HTTPS, and OS monitoring service. It protects the overall operational performance of the endpoints by having a dedicated security system. This system is usually developed by the company or individual responsible for the management and maintaining the network, and there are also services that help with this which you can get with sites such as https://www.fortinet.com/products/endpoint-security/fortiedr.

This type of security is implemented through a number of ways, including:

Anti-spoofing protection

Monitoring services such as monitoring service on the console or monitoring service with graphical clients

Physical security of endpoints such as a firewalls, intrusion detection systems, applications that check the security of the endpoint and prevent unauthorized access

Role based access controls (RAC)

This type of security is designed to prevent unauthorized access to and tampering with endpoints. Role based access controls (RAC) uses a system based on roles and permission levels to prevent unauthorized access to endpoints. There are two types of access control normal and restricted.

Normal access control is simply granting access to endpoints according to their roles and capabilities. For example, permission is granted to the IT administrator to view system logs. However, to accomplish this purpose an administrator can only view the contents of the system logs. A restricted access control is used to allow users only to view information of the specific role and permission that has been assigned to them. A restricted access control essentially is a gateway that allows a user only to access the documents that has been assigned to that user.

Types of endpoints that are protected with the network endpoint security system includes:

Logging endpoints

Business Data Exchange (BDE) endpoints

Network Firewall (NFW) endpoints

IPsec endpoints

DNS endpoints

Login endpoints

Routing and Switching endpoints

External Virtual Endpoints

Employing network endpoint security system, an organization makes it possible to protect the following types of endpoints:

Logging endpoints

Business Data Exchange (BDE) endpoints

Network Firewall (NFW) endpoints

IPsec endpoints

DNS endpoints

Login endpoints

Routing and Switching endpoints

Examining the details of an Endpoint Security System in detail

The endpoints are classified in different categories based on the type of endpoints, the type of server or software that hosts them, and the protocol that each server implements. Some of the categories may include, but not be limited to:

Base / Software





Service / Application

Role Based Access Control

Required services included in the server security solution include:

DNS / DNS Clients

DNS Server

Management / Operations

OS / Security Service

Reporting and Measurement (RMM)

Remote Access / Access Control Services

Remote Password Authentication

Remote Console / Server Management

Mail / Email Clients

SharePoint / SharePoint Service

SMB / SMB Client

SMB/CIFS clients